h1

Sorry for the long pause

February 7, 2007

I should be back up and running with the vlog here shortly. I had some very cool beer experiences that I had been hoping to capture, but in both cases I ended up just enjoying the beers.

I had the privilege of going to the brickskeller in Washington, DC in December. They typically have over 1000 varieties of beer, and so I had the opportunity to hit a couple of world classics. I had my second ever Berliner Weisse, which is a very intriguing beer from Berlin. It is made with a high percentage of wheat, and brewed at a relatively low specific gravity. The low alcohol makes for a bad traveler (hence it is very rare in the states) and it is also very much an acquired taste due to a lactic fermentation. They served it with a little side of woodruff for sweetening, and I enjoyed it thoroughly — very much similar to a lambic, but definitely it’s own unique beer.

I also had a Carnegie Porter.During my years as a homebrewer I had used the swedish porter yeast a number of times, and it was great to finally get some closure on exactly what the beer from whence it came is like (excellent).

Leave a Reply

