h1

Start hoarding is right

October 3, 2006

Apparently about 4% of America’s annual hop production caught fire yesterday:

http://www.boingboing.net/2006/10/03/up_in_smoke_4_of_ame.html

I never bought hops from Steiner (HopUnion handles most of the craft beer supply), but I am sure this will have some impact on the rest of the market.

Also, I am sure the whole valley smelled like a Phish concert.

Follow Up: http://www.upi.com/
Apparently the ATF is involved (even though it is only an ingredient), but the good news is that word on the street is that the beer prices won’t increase. It’s a good thing Exxon and Halliburton aren’t in charge of beer.

4 comments

  1. I saw this on the Boing Boing link: “Different hop varieties impart different flavors/aromas/characteristics.” Will you eventually cover that or should I do some work on that myself?


  2. i intend to go through varieties — might be a while before i get there.



  3. I’m a big fan of testing fresh hops. Anyone know where I could get some online? I can’t find anywhere that they’re not dated.



Leave a Reply

